Health & Wellness

Alt HealthWatch

(EBSCO) Database focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Consumer Health Complete

Provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to complementary and holistic medicine. It also contains dozens of articles on a variety of teen health topics. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Health Reference Center Academic

A multi-source database for health and wellness research. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Health Source: Consumer Edition

This resource provides access to over 300 full text consumer health periodicals and more than 1000 health-related pamphlets, and over 100 health reference books. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic

This resource provides access to 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical disciplines; also includes the Clinical Pharmacology database, providing access to info about prescription drugs and over-the-counter products. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

MEDLINE (with MeSH)

Web database to search for articles in medical journals, via PubMed or Internet Grateful Med. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Natural & Alternative Treatments

An alternative medicine database designed specifically for the consumer-health researcher. This database provides current, up-to-date information that will satisfy an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased information on natural health. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

General

Credo Complete Core Collection

A general reference resource that serves as a starting point for researchers at any level. Content includes major reference works spanning across all subject areas.

Explora for Elementary / Primary Search

Search that focuses on content written for primary school students. Topics covered include those of special interest to students such as animals, language arts, science, and geography. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Explora for High School

Search that focuses on content written for high school students. Topics covered include those of special interest to students such as science, current issues, health, history, art, and literature. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Explora for Public Libraries

(EBSCO) Searches for content from numerous resources. Results cover a broad range of topics including arts, literature, science, biography, history and health. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database also has various images and offers brief biographies. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more from sources such as The New York Times, Newsweek, Foreign Policy, American Scientist, and Education Week. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Spanish-Language

Fuente Academia Premier

Includes PDF full text for 260 scholarly publications covering areas of academic study. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

MedicLatina

Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

ProCitizen (En espanol)

Preparación para obtener la ciudadanía estadounidense

 

Pronunciator (En español)

Pronunciator es una manera divertida y facil de aprender cualquiera de los 80 idiomas disponibles. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Referencia Latina

Full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers and newswires from 8 Latin American countries.

Salud en Espanol

Consumer-oriented content in all areas of health and wellness – in Spanish Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Literature

20th Century American and English Poetry

A database collection that includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Contemporary Authors

Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Essay and General Literature Index

Cites records in collections of essays and works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada dating back to 1985 and spans the entire range of the humanities and social sciences. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Literary Reference Center

Provides information on thousands of authors and their works through an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries, poems, short stories, author interviews and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Literature Criticism Online

Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children\'s Literature Review.

Play Index

Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Scribner Writers

Access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Each entry averages 15-20 pages in length and includes a concise essay, hyperlinks for cross-referencing, a citation and biographical information that places the author’s work in personal and historical context. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Short Story Index

Contains information on short stories by author or genre, and provides detailed indexing for more than 117,000 stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Twayne's Author Series

Features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series –United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors — each of which were carefully coordinated with input from librarians and educators to include authors universally studied in high schools and colleges. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Reference & Research

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

All Proquest Databases

Provides a list of all Proquest databases. 

Specialized Research

AGRICOLA

Includes records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library with coverage back to 1970. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Sustainability Reference Center

Sustainability Reference Center includes full text articles from periodicals related to sustainability initiative management. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.
 

History, Social Studies, & Geography

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

The most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912

American Indian Histories and Cultures

Spanning four hundred years, document types include manuscripts, artworks, speeches and petitions, diaries, correspondence, linguistic and ethnographic studies, photographs, maps, photographs, rare printed books and American Indian newspapers. Full color. Searchable. Multiple added features. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

American West

Sourced from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library (Chicago), The American West allows browsers to explore tales of frontier life, Pioneers, Wild West shows, the Gold Rush, vigilantes and outlaws. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life with over 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, etc. Dates of covergae is form the sixteenth century to the present. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Military & Government Collection

Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military, this database contains searchable full text for nearly 240 periodicals including Army Times, Navy Times, Naval Institute Proceedings and Joint Forces Quarterly, abstracts and indexing for over 430 periodicals, and over 240 pamphlets . Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Books & Libraries

Book Review Digest Plus

Brings together book reviews on subjects such as art, biography, business, education, general interest, history, humanities, literature, music and more with coverage back to 1983. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Ebrary

A collection of e-books covering K-12, career, arts, leisure and life skills. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

EBSCOhost Ebook Collection (Formerly NetLibrary Ebooks)

Read or check out e-books, available through EBSCOhost's electronic book collection. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts

A database for the areas of information science, indexing includes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings, with ongoing comprehensive coverage. Enhanced to include cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 80 core information science and technology titles. Coverage dates as far back as the mid 1960's. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Library of Texas

Search for information from multiple library catalogs.

NoveList Plus

Online guide to help identify fiction books by title, author, plot description.

Overdrive

Download audiobooks, e-books, and videos.

TeachingBooks.net

TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

TumbleBook Library

TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

WorldCat

Catalog of library materials owned by libraries around the world. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library Use Only)

One of the largest collections of family history data online. Ancestry Library Edition is the Ancestry.com database with an interface from Proquest.

HeritageQuest - formerly Genealogy and Local History

HeritageQuest Online provides U. S. Federal census records and a collection of research materials for tracing family lineages. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Homework

Brainfuse Help Now

Get live online homework help, skills building, writing assistance, and more. Live help is available Monday - Sunday, 2pm-11pm.

MAS Complete

Designed for high school libraries, the database contains full text for more than 700 popular, high school magazines and over 84,000 biographies and primary source documents. Includes more than 350 reference books (including the CIA World Fact Book, World Almanac and Our States reference book series). Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Middle Search Plus

Contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, includes an assigned reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Primary Search

For elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for 70 popular, elementary school magazines. Full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also offers indexing and abstracts for 100 magazines and an image Collection of 188,300+ photos, maps and flags. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

TOPICSearch

A current events database indexing social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Includes full text for over 100,000 articles from 2,500 diverse sources, including international and regional newspapers. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Jobs & Careers

Brainfuse Job Now

Get live job coaching, resume assistance, and more.

Job and Career Accelerator

A powerful career and job search tool is now available to help job seekers face the daunting task of searching for a new job or advancing a career. Job & Career Accelerator™ -- the first fully integrated online career and job search platform -- is designed to guide any job seeker through the most effective career selection and job search possible. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Vocational & Career Collection

Indexes a wide variety of vocational and technical research resources; includes full text coverage for over 350 trade and industry-related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, etc. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Business

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Offers full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, statistical rankings and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center

Disaster Recovery Reference Center covers periodicals focusing on business continuity and disaster recovery. Includes fulltext articles and is updated weekly. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Business Source Complete

World's largest resource of full text business publications; includes all discplines of business such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, finance, etc. Selected coverage as far back as 1886. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Regional Business News

Updated daily, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text for 35 international newswires and 49 regional business publications. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Small Business Reference Center

Small Business Reference Center provides a number of periodical articles, reference books, and 'how to' videos on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Science & Technology

Computer Source: Consumer Edition

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Directory of Open Access Journals

This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Science & Technology Collection

Indexes over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, marine sciences and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Science in Context

The Science and Technology Ebook Subscription offers more than 28,000 carefully curated ebooks spanning coverage in all science and technology topics with exceptional strength in computers and IT, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math. It is designed to facilitate the research workflow and outcomes for your library and its users. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

SciTech Premium

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Education

Education Administration Abstracts

This research database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

ERIC

Provides access to education literature and resources; includes full text of 2,200+ digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Learning Express

Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams in the areas of academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

ProCitizen

ProCitizen can help you learn the information needed to become an U.S. citizen using specially designed videos and quizzes. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Professional Development Collection

Includes full text for nearly 550 high quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, etc. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Social Sciences

Family Studies Abstracts

This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

GreenFILE

Offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. 

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Indexing for over 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, etc. Indexing and abstracts are provided as well as full text; full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Race Relations

This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Houston & Texas

Handbook of Texas

Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Sanborn maps are large scale plans of a city or town drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street block and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Texas Reference Center

Includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure; also contains biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Includes the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. The database is updated weekly. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Do It Yourself

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Full text for more than 1,500 leading hobby books and craft magazines that cover Arts & Crafts, Collecting, Home & Garden, Indoor Recreation, Kids' Crafts, Model Building, Needlecrafts & Textiles, and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Home Improvement Reference Center

Provides users with user-friendly how-to information covering a range of home improvement and repair projects and features full-text content from leading magazines, images not found anywhere else online, and videos of popular home repair projects. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Arts & Humanities

Humanities Full Text

Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama and poetry in all fields of the humanities from art, classical studies, and film to journalism and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Religion & Philosophy

Database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Law

Legal Collection

Includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals; an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

LegalForms

Gale LegalForms includes forms specific to the state of Texas. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation?s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Newspapers and Magazines

MasterFILE Complete

Provides full text for nearly 1,860 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Newspaper Source Plus

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Selected full text over 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and more. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Serials Directory

Provides access to up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information and current pricing structures for popular serials. Includes 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Language Learning

Pronunciator

Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of 80 languages. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Consumer & Auto

Chilton's Library

Provides quick online access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Provides repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and also allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers. Provided by the Texas State Library's TEXSHARE program.