How to: Check my Reading History
You may want to print out this page for future reference.
Have you ever wanted to keep a record of the books you’ve read, but never had time to make a list or can’t find the list you did start? There’s now a solution using your library account.
Accessible online through "My Library Account," Reading History records the title, author, and checkout date for all items checked out to you once you "opt in" to the service. You may turn your Reading History on or off at any time by deleting the history and "Opting out" of the service. Please be aware that if you elect to keep a Reading History, under the USA Patriot Act, it may be subject to examination by law enforcement authorities without your permission.
Working with Reading History:
- In the library's Online Catalog or on the library's homepage, select the link or button called "My Library Account."
- A login page will appear and you will be asked to enter your name and 14 digit library barcode number. Click the "Submit" button and you will be logged in to your account.
NOTE: If for some reason your information is not accepted, please visit the circulation desk at the library or call us at 722-1255 so that we can correct it.
- Once you have logged into your account, you will see your personal information, number of items you have checked out, number of holds, an option to search the catalog, and Reading History.
- Click the "Reading History" link. You will see the button "Opt In." If you click on the button, it will toggle to an "Opt Out" button. From that point on, any items you check out will be listed in your personal reading history. Previously checked out items will not be listed. You may delete any or all items from the list at any time
- You can discontinue using the reading history feature at any time. Simply "Delete All" from your list, then select the button labeled "Opt Out." The library staff will not access your reading history unless required by law or at your request.
- Logout of your account when you are finished. This is very important to ensure your privacy. Just click the "Logout" button and you will be returned to the main search screen.