Booklists -- If You Like ...

Searching for something new to read, but don't know where to start looking ? The following are lists of of stylistic and thematic "readalikes." If you like the writing style of specific authors, or the thematic tones of specific titles or genres, you might also enjoy some of the additional authors and/or titles in these individual booklists. Not all titles or authors are owned by the Marion & Ed Hughes Public Library, but may appear here for the sake of providing additional reading recommendations. You may wish request such titles (or authors) through other sources, including the library's Interlibrary Loan request service.

AUTHOR READALIKES

The following booklists are organized around the writing styles of particularly popular authors. If you like their books, you might want to try some similar authors.

  • Jane Austen Inspired -- Includes adaptations and sequels, as well as books with modern settings, inspired by Jane Austen
  • Patricia Cornwell -- Forensic pathologist; tough female investigators; complex plots, filled with satisfying twists.
  • Clive Cussler -- Action/adventure which typically take place in exotic locales and in extreme conditions.
  • Janet Evanovich -- Mysteries with wacky humor in both situations and dialog; sassy, "smart-mouthed," female protagonist; also includes readalikes for her romances.
  • Sue Grafton -- Female protagonist in a hard-boiled private eye mystery.
  • John Grisham -- Plot-driven, fast-paced, legal thrillers.
  • Stephen King  -- Contemporary horror, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense
  • James Patterson  -- Women's Murder Club -- Female characters involved in law enforcement or journalism and who investigate crimes.
  • James Patterson -- Alex Cross -- Mystery-thriller-crime genre featuring fast, unrelenting pacing, high levels of violence, and engrossing plots.


GENRE BOOKLISTS

The following booklists are organized around a specific genre category.

  • Arthurian Romances -- titles that retell, or feature similar elements contained in, the stories of the King Arthur
  • Chick Lit -- contemporary fiction literature by, for, or about women typically focusing on their social lives and relationships
  • Christian Romances -- romances which incorporate Christian elements and beliefs into the storyline
  • CSI - Forensic Thrillers -- Mysteries in which the detective works in forensics, or uses forensic evidence to solve the crime; includes a couple of true crime authors
  • Cozy Mysteries -- mysteries that generally shy away from gruesome details or harsh language and focus on character development and, of course, the mystery puzzle itself
  • Christmas Mysteries -- whodunits with a Christmas theme
  • Epic Fantasy -- feature quests and world threatening good vs evil plots.
  • Futuristic Romances -- romances that feature science fiction elements
  • Glitz and Glamour -- flashy, filled with larger than life characters
  • Here Come's the Bride -- romances with a wedding theme
  • Historical Romances -- romances set in a variety of time periods, such as regency or medieval
  • Inspirational Fiction -- fiction which incorporates Christian elements and beliefs into the storyline of a novel. List is broken into a variety of subgenres, i.e. mystery, horror, etc.
  • Love Bites -- romance novels featuring vampires or vampiric themes
  • Love on the Range -- romances with a western twist
  • Paranormal Investigations -- Fiction and nonfiction about paranormal investigators
  • Paranormal Romances -- romances featuring shapeshifters, ghosts, or time travel, as well as characters with psychic abilities such as telekinesis or telepathy
  • Political Thrillers -- Action thrillers featuring terrorist plans, politics and international intrigue
  • Recipe for Murder -- Culinary mysteries are usually "cozy" mysteries that prominently feature food and/or cooking -- sometimes with the recipes included
  • Romantic Suspense -- books which combine elements of mysteries, thrillers and romance novels
  • Season's Readings -- novels with a Christmas setting
  • Westerns -- Traditional -- typically set in the American Old West during the latter half of the 19th century


INDIVIDUAL TITLE READALIKES

The following booklists are organized around appeal factors of specific books. If you like these books, you might want to try some similar titles by other authors.

  • Angels and Demons  -- Thrillers/mysteries involving history, secret societies, art and/or religion
  • Da Vinci Code -- Code-breaking, suspense, Knights Templar
  • The Harry Potter series -- Youthful "coming-of-age" featuring magic and Good vs. Evil
  • The Help -- Experiences about race, class, and gender in the 1960s; typically viewed through the eyes of strongly drawn female characters.
  • The Left Behind series  -- Adventure thrillers with a strong religious bent, featuring spiritual warfare between the forces of Good and Evil
  • Lord of the Rings series -- Epic quests and battles between good and evil
  • Twilight -- Now that Edward and Bella are married... What should you read?

Booklists -- Miscellaneous Topics and Guides

The following booklists are organized around specific subjects, such as Comic Art and History, Graphic Novels, AR lists, etc.

  • Comic Art and History  [psychological dramas featuring varied casts of characters; emphasis on music as a healing or unifying force]

Booklists For Teens

The following Teen-oriented booklists are organized around specific subjects, genres, characters and authors.

  • Alex Rider -- action/adventure series
  • All Kinds of Creepy -- vampires, ghosts, monsters and other things that go bump in the night
  • Chick Lit -- contemporary fiction literature by, for, or about teenage girls typically focusing on their social lives and relationships
  • Gateway to Faerie/Fairy -- World of Faerie and its courts, as well as new twists on classic Fairy Tales.
  • Vampires -- fiction revolving around vampires

 

Booklists For Kids

The following booklists are organized around specific subjects, genres, characters and authors.

  • Graphic Novels -- books that appear on the AR lists
  • Percy Jackson -- books with mythological characters, exciting adventures, and fantastical experiences


From Book to Movie

You've seen the movie, why not check out and read the book. The following booklists are organized around books that have been made into movies.


Looking for more Readalikes and other Booklists? Check out our Reader Services page.